1. Skip to content

Cornwall Association of Local Councils

Supporting Local Councils in Cornwall

Calc Cornish Tin Mine

County Executive Officer: Sarah Mason
Unit 1, 1 Riverside House
Heron Way Newham, Truro

Our Executive Comittee

Our Executive Committee are volunteers with a great variety of experience in the town and parish council sector. Having an executive committee means that we are able to make decisions in a fair and transparent way thus enabling our county association to operate.

Who is on the committee?

Paul O'Brien (Chairman)

Paul O'Brien is a retired Police Officer who on retirement to Cornwall was persuaded to stand for election to Launceston Town Council in 2007. He was successful and a year later was elected as the Town's Deputy Mayor to be followed a year later by the first of two successive years as Town Mayor. In this capacity he represented Launceston at CALC Larger Councils meetings and became interested in the Association's work.

In response to a recruiting drive by the Association he applied to join and was appointed to its Executive Committee in 2011 and became its Vice Chairman a few months later. He was elected as Chairman in 2015.

Chris Kennedy

Chris has been involved in local government for 9 years with Sheviock Parish Council. He was a member of the Carradon Standards Committee and in 2009 became a member of Cornwall Council's Standards Committee. He stood down from the Committee when the Localism Bill was introduced that removed the sanctions available to the Committee.

He joined CALC because he considered the parish councils needed a strong organisation in a Unitary Council structure. He believes it is important that processes are in place to ensure the views and concerns of town and parish councillors are understood at county hall and that CALC can provide independent training and advice to the member parishes through a sustainable administration.

Robert Drew

Bob Drew was born and educated in Cornwall, attending the last year of Saltash Grammar School in 1966. After a career of 35 years in the Metropolitan Police he returned to Cornwall and now lives just outside Illogan. A councillor on Carn Brea Parish Council, Bob is presently Chairman of the Council, and also Chairman of Planning. A Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts his main interest is in local government administration, systems of governance, and standards of conduct in society and especially within local government.

Bob became a member of the CALC Executive to lend his skills and knowledge to CALC as he believes the developing relationship between the Unitary Authority and the town/parish councils requires appropriate scrutiny and encouragement, so that we are able to best represent the interests of the people of Cornwall.

Graham Ford

Illogan Parish councillor and NALC Representative.

Linda Higgins

Perranzabuloe Parish Councillor

Carl Hearn

Tavistock Town Clerk

Peter Tisdale

Councillor for Mabe Parish Council

Stuart Roden

Truro City Council Councillor